YES Programs


About Us

The U.S. State Department’s Kennedy-Lugar Youth Exchange and Study (YES) program brings high school students from countries of strategic importance to the United States for an academic year to advance the U.S. foreign policy goals of promoting civil society, youth leadership development, and lasting ties between Americans and the people of participating countries.  Applicants compete for YES scholarships through a rigorous, merit-based selection process.  While on program, participants live with American host families, attend high school, and engage in community service and civic education activities.  The YES program was established by Congress in October 2002 in response to the events of September 11, 2001.  The YES Abroad program was established in 2009 to provide a similar experience for U.S. students (15-18 years) to spend an academic year in select YES countries.

The program currently accept students from the following countries:

Albania | Bahrain | Bangladesh | Bosnia and Herzegovina | Bulgaria | Cameroon | Egypt | Gaza | Ghana | India | Indonesia | Israel (Arab Communities) | Jordan | Kenya | Kosovo | Kuwait | LebanonLiberia | Libya | North Macedonia | Malaysia | Mali | Morocco | Mozambique | Nigeria | Pakistan | PhilippinesSaudi Arabia | Senegal | Sierra Leone | South Africa | Suriname | Tanzania | Thailand | Tunisia | Turkey | West Bank.

The YES program is administered in partnership with the U.S. Department of State by a consortium of non-profit organizations led by American Councils for International Education and includes the placement and recruitment organizations listed on their respective pages.